Confessions of a cake-a-holic

by Saskia

Baking is one of my favorite things to do, even though I don’t always have the time for it. Yesterday afternoon I didn’t have anything to do, as today was going to be my all-day-study-day. As yesterday afternoon was free of study stuff, I decided to make a cake! It was going to be a plain cake, as I made it a few weeks ago for my b-day as well and it was DE-LI-CIOUS! I will share my recipe with you guys, so you can make this delicious cake at home. It is NOT my own recipe, but from the amazing Hummingbird Bakery. I bought their cookbook a while ago and it is fabulous. Their stuff looks delicious and my batches never look as neat and pretty as theirs, but if you follow the recipe it will probably taste great. I will have a Hummingbird Bakery appreciation post later :’) To get the recipe and pictures of my cake, read more!

I have a dutch copy of the cookbook, so this will be a free translation of the recipe for a Buttermilk cake, so I hope my translated terms are correct. I know that some countries may not work with grams but with oz and stuff instead, but this recipe will be in grams. Here you can re-measure to the weight-terms you use : ) Also, the pictures aren’t that good, as I took them with my phone and apperently, my phone-camera isn’t that good. Next time I will get my lazy ass upstairs and get my actual camera :’)

Buttermilk cake

Foto0007

Ingredients:
120 grams of butter, room temperature
330 grams of caster sugar
3 eggs
200 grams of flour
half a teaspoon baking soda/powder
half a teaspoon salt
1,2  dl buttermilk
quarter of a teaspoon vanilla essence 

The book uses a bakingtray of 13 x 23 cm, but I used a round bakingtray with a diameter of 20 cm instead. Make sure you prepared it: greased with butter and ‘dusty’ with flour.

Preheat your oven at 170 degrees. I have only the options 160 and 180, so I used 180 degrees.

Add the butter and the sugar to your bowl and mix it until a pale, light mass. Add one by one the eggs and make sure that you scrape the ingredients off the sides of your bowl so they get mixed too. I usually add one egg, mix a little, add another egg, mix a little and add last egg, mix again, so the whole thing doesn’t splash out of the bowl.

Foto0010
This is what it should look like before you add the eggs.

Add the baking powder and the salt to the flour and make sure it’s mixed a little. Put one-third of the flourmix to your bowl, add half of the buttermilk. Mix again. Then add one-third again, put the rest of the milk in, mix again and then put the last one-third of the flourmix in. Mix thoroughly. Add the vanilla-essence and mix ’till it’s a good mixed mass.

Foto0015

Put your mix into your prepared bakingtray and put in in the oven for about an hour. Hummingbird says it only needs 35-40 minutes, but mine is never ready by that time. Usually mine takes about an hour in a preheatd 180 degrees oven. Your cake is ready when it has a goldenbrown color (probably not the best translation, but hey..) and it bounces back a little when your press on top. Let the cake cooldown and rest in the bakingtray for a little while, before you take off the bakingtray and let it cool completely.
Or don’t let it cool completely and eat it while still a bit warm, mmmmm omnomnom.

Foto0016

I put powdered sugar on top before serving, it makes your cake look more special and it gives a little extra taste.

Foto0019

Enjoy!

