In shopping basket: love affair

by Nina de Haan

The woman on the radio told me that if I wanted to cheat on my partner, I should go to their website, because apparently they make their money out of helping others do that. Sure, why not?

No really, I am confused as hell. According to some friends this concept has been there for quite some time now, but it’s new to me and I don’t get it. A dating website for people who already have a relationship? I know, cheating happens, dating site or no dating site, but are we now going to encourage this? ‘You want to cheat on your wife? Let me help you find a sex buddy! If enough of you bastards use my service, I earn enough money to support my family including my loving wife, whom I will never cheat on. Of course. But hey, you do it! It’s fun!’ Seriously?

I am now looking at one of those dating sites. Straight from there (translated): Do you feel trapped in a loveless or boring wedding? Do you miss the magic of passion, excitement or intimacy? [name website] can give you that boost! After all you only live once! See? They actually try to convince you to cheat. That is just wrong. They also claim that most people having an affair don’t want to put their relationship at risk. THEN DON’T CHEAT. Yes, that’s nothing new, but I just don’t get this. I would even think this is illegal and if not, I don’t get why they allow them to advertise on the radio like that. Now innocent people having a hard time may start considering it as a real option, without having given it a single thought earlier. Because you only live once, right?

I don’t know about the facts, if these websites make the amount of cheaters increase or not, but I think the whole concept is sick. You better build a website to actually help these people who aren’t happy with their relationship, instead of destroying their relationships even more. You don’t get to kick when something’s already down.

Please, tell me what you think!

