May the odds be ever in your favor

by Saskia

People who know the Hunger Games, already know what this post is about. Anyone who didn’t know it yet, now knows it’s about the Hunger Games. This is a story about how a crazy fandom came alive.

Would you be able to survive on your own, in the wilderness, while everyone is an enemy? The remains of a place once called North America is now known as the country Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve Districts. Each year, the Districts are forced to deliver one boy and one girl (aged 12 to 18) to participate in the Hunger Games – a brutal and terrifying fight on life and death. These games are shown on television for the enjoyment of Panem.

When Katniss volunteers to participate to save her sister, she knows her dead sentence can be served. Her only chance of survival lies in making the right decisions. Will she choose surviving or friendship? Her love or her life? Together or alone?

May the odds be ever in your favor.

I recently started reading the books, as I wanted it for a long time but just couldn’t because I didn’t have the time. In fact, I didn’t even have the time recently, but I wanted to start anyway. I had been saving to buy the books, because I didn’t want to buy them in a rush and knew for sure that I wanted them. I first bought number one, ‘The Hunger Games’, and as soon as I started reading, I knew I wanted the other books, number two ‘Catching Fire’ and number three ‘Mockingjay’, as well. I finished the first one in about three days and I finished number two in something more than a week. And I absolutely LOVE it!

The books get you addicted. I don’t know how, I don’t know why, but they just do, believe me. The book is written from Katniss’ point of view, which means you read all her thoughts and see everything through her eyes. Eventhough the book is kind of omnious, as they force kids to murder eachother and stay alive as the last one, it is really interesting. The details are amazing, but there is not too much freaky details when someone is murdered.

In March, the first movie is coming into cinemas and I can’t wait to see it! If you got a little curious about the story, here is the trailer for the movie. I hope I can get you just as excited as I am right now!

As a last note: on the back of the Dutch books, it even says
  ‘Warning: this book may take over your life’
Well, it for sure did.

