Books books books

by Saskia

I can make a very long introduction to this post, but a long story short: I love books. The feeling you get when you get into a book and don’t want it to end makes it so worthwhile to take the time to read. After seeing John Green’s newest video on youtube, I knew what I was going to blog about today: book recommendations. Might come in handy if you still need to make up your Christmas-wish-list.

Everything by John Green
I’ve read 4 of his books, and so far I only disliked one, An Abundance of Katherines. That book was just not for me, I was annoyed by the main character ALL. THE. TIME. The rest of his books are really good, my favorite is The Fault In Our Stars, which I finished in 2 days. It’s about a 16 year old girl with cancer and it’s so real and painful and sad and just so incredibly good. I was really surprised how good a 35 year old man captured a 16 year old girl, including love crushes and such, so amazingly good. His other books are Looking for Alaska, Paper Towns, Will Grayson Will Grayson (yes the title says the name twice, it’s not a typo) and Let It Snow. Looking for Alaska and Paper Towns were both really good, the last two one I haven’t read yet. The last two are also collaborations with other writers.
Aside from the stories themselves, John’s writing style is genius. As you might know, I’m Dutch, but I read the books in English just because there is no way of capturing his writing style when translating. Here’s a little excerpt from Looking for Alaska:

“What is an “instant” death anyway? How long is an instant? Is it one second? Ten? The pain of those seconds must have been awful as her heart burst and her lungs collapsed and there was no air and no blood to her brain and only raw panic. What the hell is instant? Nothing is instant. Instant rice takes five minutes, instant pudding an hour. I doubt that an instant of blinding pain feels particularly instantaneous.”

The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins
Aside from stating the obvious, those books are really great. They’re ‘children’ books, so easy to read, although the topic is not really childish. For those of you who haven’t read the books or seen the movie: it’s about future USA divided into 12 districts and a Capitol. Every year, there’s ‘The Hunger Games’, which means every district has to deliver a boy and a girl for the Games. Those 24 children have to fight until there’s only one survivor. Doesn’t sound like a fun book, but they’re so good. I’m so glad I started reading them when all three books were published already, because waiting for Mockingjay, the third book after finishing Catching Fire, the second one, would be terrible.

Every Day by David Levithan
Okay, I’m just going to be honest right now. I haven’t finished this book yet. I think I’m only about 100 pages in, but the story is so unique. Maybe the ending is going to be really, really bad, but the idea is still great. The story is about A, who is genderless as far as I know, and wakes up in a different body every day. He/she has to live that life for a day without any clue about it. A’s not supposed to get attached to anything or anyone, but on the first day the book starts, it happens. It’s a book like I’ve never read before and it’s just so incredibly unique. I can’t wait to read the rest but I’m almost a 100% sure it’s going to be a great ending. His writing style is great as well, which makes me really excited for Will Grayson Will Grayson which I mentioned before, because it’s a collaboration between John Green and David Levithan. Awesome writer + awesome writer = probably a really good book! I’ll let you know!

I heart New York by Lindsey Kelk
If you like a bit more of the chicklit genre, I would recommend this book. As really all chicklits are: it’s really unlikely any of it would happen, but it’s so funny to read. The story starts when Angela is at a wedding and finds her fiancé hooking up with another woman, on which she decides to take a plane to New York City. She meets new people there, first person she meets ends up being her best friend, she gets an awesome job and eventually a really cool boyfriend. How much cheesier can it get? Not much, but it’s so good to read after reading heavy stories like kids with cancer, kids murdering each other or waking up in a different body every day ;) There’s a whole serie, consisting of 5 books, where Angela is going to Hollywood, Paris, Vegas and London. I’m now reading I heart Hollywood and even if they get really bad, I still want to finish the whole serie. It’s just so addicting.

If you would like more recommendations, don’t forget to click the link I posted above in which John Green gives you his recommendations. I’ll leave you with one of his quotes from that video, on which I couldn’t agree more.

“If you like the Harry Potter books, you should just read them again, they stand up to re-reading.”

