The Style Book

by Nina de Haan

You know how I sometimes like to make collages of clothing in Photoshop? Which I then post here to make it seem more useful. Well, long before my Photoshop era I already made fashion collages, using good old scissors and glue. These collages have been collected in my style book.

Style book is a well-known term among fashion lovers. It basically means ‘book in which you express your style’, mainly by making collages, but writing, drawing and anything else you can think of is allowed. Once you have your style book, you can use it whenever you are in need of inspiration and of course you can enjoy it every time you feel like looking at nice pictures and compositions you collected and made yourself. How nice is that?

For me editorials are the main reason to like fashion magazines, mostly because of the possibility to rip them out and make them into collages. Or when images are too complete by themselves, to just collect them and look at them every once in a while. For my style book I prefer pictures with ‘doable’ clothing over catwalk looks no one (in the Netherlands) will ever dare to wear in daily life. This and my love for simplicity makes that my collages are quite simple and clean, which is exactly what I like.

Here I present to you the most recent additions to my style book and my first ever made animated GIF:

mystylebook

I don’t do credits in my style book since I am not publishing, but most images are coming out of ELLE, Glamour and H&M catalog and magazine. To give you an impression of the frequency of my collage making: shown are the fruits of 2.5 years. This frequency is low mostly due to the fact that I don’t want to spend much money on fashion magazines and magazines in general and I don’t want to use the internet for this because that would make it too complicated and I like the simplicity of how it works now.

Some more things I would like to add, for those of you who are thinking of starting a style book but don’t know yet how: there is no right or wrong. It is your very own personal project and you can make it exactly the way you like. Don’t like what you made at first? Just try if something else works better.
Plus: the images don’t have to represent the way you dress and that is totally fine. I once worried about my style book not representing me, but then I decided that the style book may be a good indication for the way I would want to dress if I had less restrictions (money, always the restriction) and more courage. My point is: it doesn’t matter as long as you like it and it may show you things about your style you didn’t already see.
So go ahead, making a style book is fun! ;)

